• Welcome to MacSailing.net!
  • Dedicated to sailing!
  • Be Jolly!
Hello There, Guest! Login Register

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Title: Raymarine Connectivity?
I am a reasonably tech-capable guy. Well ...I can follow instructions, anyway.

Can I hook MacENC up to my Raymarine system (C120W chartplotter, AIS, Radar, ST 6002 autopilot, ST60 and ST 70 instruments)?

If so, what is the hardware, the physical means to connect the Raymarine SeaTalk/NMEA network streaming the GPS/AIS/Radar/instrument data into the Mac?

Many thanks

-Cap'n Bri

The best way would be to use a Multiplexer..

http://www.shipmodul.com/en/miniplex-2usb.html

OR

http://brookhouseonline.com/imux.htm

The iMux can be interfaced to the Mac via USB or WiFi.
Scott Dillon
Sydney Australia
North Shore 38
CYCA

Thanks...

Let me see if I understand this correctly.

I see that Brookhouse IMux has a Seatalk version.
I presume that I would just wire that up to a Seatalk node and then set the ENC program to the proper channels, baud rates, and such.

Once properly configured, MacENC will interpret the incoming multiplexed data into the various displays (GPS, instrument data, radar returns, etc.)

Is that right?

And thanks again for all your help.

Both of the Multiplexers convert proprietary Seatalk into NMEA-0183 (The standard for marine instrumentation)

MacENC can process the following NMEA data ..

http://www.gpsnavx.com/html/nmea.html

RADAR targets and cursor are supported by NMEA-0183. RADAR video is not.

I like the iMux because it works wirelessly.
Scott Dillon
Sydney Australia
North Shore 38
CYCA

As a follow up I should note Raymarine does make a Seatalk to NMEA-0183 device, but my experience is the NMEA conversion is incomplete and it provides no direct USB connectivity. As such I like the third party solutions by Shipmodul and iMux which also accept additional NMEA-0183 inputs and output.
Scott Dillon
Sydney Australia
North Shore 38
CYCA